My New Years Resolution


2010 has come to an end and has ushered in a new year. This new year of 2011 is going to be a great year. I just know it. I can feel it. I know it will present its own unique challenges, challenges both good and bad: challenges that will force me to think fast on my feet: challenges that will make me a stronger and better person: challenges that I will learn from: challenges that will bring great joy and meaning to my life.

I’ve made a New Years resolution. It’s not a complex one as I can’t control my destiny. So, this year I’ve set realistic guidelines of what I hope to accomplish.

My New Years resolution:

-complete my second book, ‘To be Maria’–the final, edited draft–in June.
-move out of my parents’ place and establish a place where I can call my home away from home.
-get established in my career enough where I will have no financial worries.
-Grow out my hair–at least to my shoulders–and hope that it continues on its thickening process. Okay, my hair may not make it down to my shoulders by the end of December. If not, I don’t care.

Aside from my personal new years resolution, I have so much to look forward to this year. I and some of my good friends from Storybook Theatre will be performing a few stories that we performed last summer at the Driftwood Players AGM on January 27th. Then, we will be performing ‘A Bedfull of Foreigners’ at the Heritage Playhouse in February. For those of you who don’t know, ‘A Bedfull of Foreigners’ was put on by the Peninsula Players as dinner theatre at the end of October and early November
2010. It was such a success that our director, Lori Pepper and assistant director, Robert Hunt, decided to revamp it again as regular theatre.

I had so much fun performing in Storybook Theatre last summer that I want to do it again this year. And, depending on where God leads me this year, I will commit. Regardless of what happens, I have my family and my friends close by and I look forward to sharing many more good memories with them.

Leave a Reply

