Muse: Anya from ‘To be Maria’


Okay, I had a long enough break. Its back to work now. I must feed my blog with more posts before it screams at me.

Anyway, today I’m going to muse about Anya Preschnikov, the main character in my book, ‘To be Maria’. Anya lives in Kelowna, British Columbia. She is from a very poor family. Her father ignores her, her brother–when he lived at home, he beat her and her sister hates her. To make matters worse, she attends a school full of rich kids who bully her and look down on her for being different.

However, all that changes when Maria Hernandez comes on the scene. She takes Anya under her wing and in their quest for popularity, they find themselves with the wrong people and in the wrong places.

Okay, I’m going to stop now before I give away the whole story. The story is set in 2003–exactly eight years ago–so today, Anya will be twenty-five years old (my age). What I’m interested in knowing is where she is today? Oh, I forgot to mention that she is an aspiring actor.

Will she be well on her way to stardom, will she be living to survive, will she be married with one or two children? All of these questions bring me closer to Anya. They make me want to get to know her better than I already do. There is going to be a sequel to this novel, so I better not leak anymore interesting tid-bits about Anya.

I just thought I would post this little bit of info because, as a writer, I find it interesting how a character can become so real to me. Its like meeting a stranger for the very first time. As I get to know that person, the friendship grows stronger, sometimes it doesn’t. But when it does, I want to get to know that person more.

My point: It doesn’t hurt to create a future for your main character beyond the story. It just might compel you to write a sequel. If not, at least it brought you closer to your character.

Leave a Reply

