The AW April Blog Chain: Interview with Anya Preschnikov


This month’s blog chain, hosted by Orion_mk3 is a killer blog chain. Every theme so far has been very enjoyable, but this one is the best.

This month’s blog chain is another two-parter. First, we must describe one of our characters in 50 words or less. Second, we must have that character interview us. Little did I know how much stress my characters (To be Maria) would put me through.

I talked to Anya Preschnikov (the MC in my WIP, ‘To be Maria’) and asked if she would be interested in interviewing me. However, she told me that she’s no good at interviewing people. I spent the rest of the week, talking to the other characters. But no one wanted to interview me. And, Carly even slammed her door in my face (Bitch). I really didn’t want to back out of this blog chain, so with much effort on my behalf, I struck a deal with Anya. I would interview her.

Anya is age seventeen, poor and very attractive. But she is painfully misunderstood by most of her peers, especially by her own family. Her lifelong dream is to become an actor, but her longing for popularity obscures her vision.

In a businesslike manner, I flip through a small stack of papers. All of the pages are blank, but I pretend that they are filled with information pertinent to the interview that I am conducting with my character. Her name is Anya Preschnikov and she is the most gorgeous young woman that I have laid eyes on. A pang of jealousy beats against my chest. I wish I had hair like that. I steel a glance at her. Her caramel brown hair is straight and very thick. It tumbles over one shoulder in a sleek mass, falling almost to her waist. Underneath all those old, baggy clothes is a slim body fit for Hollywood. I long to tell her that, but I keep my mouth shut.

She peers back at me timidly. I can almost feel the tension emanate from her body. She is awkward and uncomfortable and I can understand why. A complete stranger, sitting on the opposite side of the desk, is staring at her, sizing her up. All I’m really doing is admiring her beautiful hair and her innocence. I want to tell her this, but I too am slightly withdrawn.

In my twenty-five-year-old wisdom, I fix my hazel eyes on her face and say, “So, Anya. I heard you want to be an actor.”

She stares back at me. I can feel her gaze harden.

“Yes. Did Patrick tell you?” Her response is not exactly friendly.

I blush faintly. Wow, I had hoped that my own character would be much more receptive to me. I guess I’m wrong. “Uh–no. I never even saw Patrick,” I say at last.

Her eyes narrow. I can detect a hint of hatred in those chocolate brown eyes. “Then, did Carly tell you?”

Her resentment chills me to the bone. I suddenly don’t want to do this interview anymore. Every fibre in my body pleads with me to call it off. But, I force myself to progress with the next question that pops into my mind. “Mr. Hawthorne told me.” By now, my hands are sweaty and my heart is racing. I feel as if I’m in an open battle field, preparing to meet the enemy in combat. “Why do you want to be popular, Anya?” I blurt out.

The resentful look on her face turns to one of desperation. “Because I’m sick and tired of being a loser. I hate myself! I’m not going to make it as an actor being me!”

All of my anxiety melts into sadness. I stare at her with a mixture of compassion and pity. I can see the tears gather in her pretty eyes. “You’re not a loser, Anya. You don’t need to be popular in order to make it as an actor, honey.”

She stares at me almost defiantly. “I don’t believe you. I don’t believe a word you say.”

I breathe out a heavy sigh. “I’m not lying, Anya. I’m just being upfront and honest with you.”

“How should I know you are? I mean, I don’t even know you. And–you don’t even know what I’m going through. So, you have no right to tell me what to do!”

My stomach churns with anger. Yet, I force myself to remain calm. “I’m not telling you what to do, Anya. I’m just trying to give you some friendly advice. The popular kids aren’t really popular. Their popularity is only a play. They stick together because that way, they keep each other down. Really. All they do is party. They’re probably going to amount to nothing in life because they’re putting all their energy into fitting in. It’s all fun fun fun. Where’s the individuality, the creativity, the motivation to be better people and to do great things?”

There is a long pause. I know Anya is digesting my response by the way she chews on her lower lip. “You might be right,” she says at last. Her voice is very soft, but I can still hear every word that escapes her lips.

Might be right? I know I’m right, girl, I long to tell her. Inside, I’m seething with angry at her stubbornness. This interview is going nowhere. “Anya, you’re drop-dead gorgeous. You’re talented. You have an acting teacher who firmly believes in you. And…”

“He believes in Patrick too,” she says, leaning forward in her seat.

“Oh, so what about Patrick. I’m not talking about him. I’m talking about you. You’re a young woman, and you’re far more attractive than everyone in your acting class combined. I’m very sure that you’re advanced acting teacher looks at that as well. I wouldn’t doubt if he has already chosen you as the recipient of his sponsorship to Vancouver Film School.”

Anya looks at me, her eyebrows sharply raised. “How do you know?”

I give her my most determined look. “Trust me. I know how teachers think. But, you are about to throw your chance out the window because you want to fit in with your peers, people who hate your guts.” I shake my head from side to side. “I don’t understand you.”

Anya jumps out of her seat. “This interview is over. Besides, Maria is here to pick me up.” She turns and then strides over to the door.

“That Maria is nothing but trouble,” I say on impulse.

She whirls around to face me. Her eyes flash with fury. “Don’t you dare speak about my friend that way.”

I bite down hard on my lower lip. I’m numb from the anger, frustration and sadness that flows through my limbs. Here I thought I could have a nice chat with my main character. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Next time we do a character-author interview, I’m going to talk to one of the protagonists from ‘Day of Revenge’. They are so much more matured and they have no problems with interviews.

Oh, forget about it, Deanna. You’re not the only author who doesn’t get along with your characters.

Please feel free to read the other interesting character-author interviews with the following writers.:

orion_mk3
Yoghurtelf
COchick
Steam&Ink
xcomplex
pezie
aimeelaine
auburnassassin
Della Odell
Juniper
Proach (ME)
allmyposts (Next)
jkellerford
LadyMage
dolores haze

10 thoughts on “The AW April Blog Chain: Interview with Anya Preschnikov

  1. If only we could impart our characters with our own wisdom. Of course, wisdom comes with age and experience. She'll learn :). I hope she gets her act together for that scholarship.

  2. Anya: “And–you don't even know what I'm going through. So, you have no right to tell me what to do!”

    Ha! You know her better than anyone – and you are the only one who *can* tell her what to do! You are in control … although you've got your hands full with that one.

  3. I'm really surprised that Anya is like this because at the beginning of the story, 'To be Maria', she's so meek and submissive. Its just now that she's become like this. Its the friends she's now with. Sigh 😦

Leave a Reply

