Christmas Through The Eyes of My Characters: Patrick O’Connell


I love Christmas. It is my favourite time of year. It’s the only time of year, other than summer time, that I don’t have to be in school.

I love everything about Christmas, but what I love the most is spending time with my family. I haven’t seen my relatives much since we came here to Canada. We’ve spent the last four Christmases with each other and with few of the friends that we’ve made along the way.

Since eighth grade, Anya has been with us on Christmas Day. She is so close to the family that she is like family. We’re best friends. Well, I’d like to say we’re more than best friends. I love Anya. I love everything about her. She lights up my world. She always brightens my mood and I likewise when she’s struggling. Life is not kind to her. I mean, she comes from a family that is abusive and she’s bullied a lot at school.

I also get bullied a lot. I thought that things would have gotten better for us by the time we entered senior high. We’re both seventeen, in twelfth grade. In half a year, we’re all going to enter the real world. Given that, I’d like to think that people would grow up. But they haven’t. It’s too bad for them because they are going to seriously regret it one day. I’m a firm believer in karma. What goes around eventually comes around.

I just let their rude comments roll off my shoulders. I can’t be bothered to care anymore. I have plans to become an actor, so I just can’t waste my time and energy on them. I wish, though that Anya would act the same way. She also wants to become an actor, but she’s so worried that her lack of friends will hinder her ability to make it as an actress. Sometimes she acts like she doesn’t care, but really she does. I wish she would realize that I’m her good friend. She only needs one good friend to get her through the day. I’m there for her and I always will be. Hopefully one day soon, she’ll wake up and realize that.

This Christmas, my family and I will be spending Christmas and New Years in Dublin with our other family. I asked my parents if we could take Anya with, but they don’t think it’s right to take her when we’re not yet boyfriend-girlfriend. Although I’m really excited to see my grandpa, aunts, uncles and cousins, I’m going to miss spending time with Anya. It makes me sad to think that she’ll have nowhere to go on Christmas day. She deserves so much more than what she gets, you know. I hope that one day soon, I’ll be able to give her a good life.

Leave a Reply

