The Year 2011 Went Out Like a Lion


Well, we have now entered 2012. So far, it’s off to a fairly relaxing and quiet start, better than I thought it would be given what I had very recently gone through.

On December 30th, I had a little misfortune. I decided to haul the garbage tin up the long, asphalt laden driveway that leads to my parents home–the home where I also reside. I had been feeling under the weather that day, I had this annoying scratchy feeling in my throat that wouldn’t go away.

I couldn’t have waited for a worse time to retrieve the empty garbage tin. It was beginning to get stormy outside, the rain was getting heavier. By the time I reached the bottom of the driveway, the rain was starting to come down harder than it already was. I have this phobia of being stuck in a downpour, so naturally I began to run up the driveway while holding onto the bin. About half way up the driveway, I lost my footing, fell onto my left shoulder and also hit the side of my head. I got myself up immediately, but I was in shock. Two of my fingers on my right hand were bleeding and badly bruised. But, I was mostly terrified of the pain in my shoulder even though it wasn’t acute.

Luckily, when I walked over to my neighbour’s home, she was there. She cleaned the cuts in my hand, bandaged them and then gave me two painkillers for my injuries. I then made my way back home and tried to relax, but I was in much pain. So, I eventually drove myself to the hospital.

Two and a half hours later, I was immensely relieved to find out that I had not broken any bones, just strained the muscles in my shoulder. A couple of friends–who I had planned to have dinner with that evening–met me at the hospital just as I was getting out and they took good care of me for the rest of the evening until they returned me home.

For me, the year 2011 came in like a lamb and went out like a lion.

I am feeling much better, but I still have a long way to go. Since the injured shoulder happens to be the one I use to write with, I am faced with the challenge of having to get back into the writing groove without putting too much strain on these bruised muscles.

I owe my friends and my neighbour many thanks for being there for me in the time when I needed them the most and for going out of their way to take care of me.

2 thoughts on “The Year 2011 Went Out Like a Lion

  1. Yikes! Glad you're okay! My son fell on his shoulder while playing football with friends a year+ ago and broke two bones inside his shoulder, so you're one lucky girl! Happy New Year and here's to a grand 2012!

Leave a Reply

