Art or Coincidence?


Look carefully at these photos and you will see a crucifix in the center. These photos were taken from my new camera–one that my brother gave to me as a Christmas gift this past year–sometime in January.

I’ve always believed that Christ works through us in mysterious ways, ways that are not what we consider the usual, ways that sometimes we cannot even comprehend. During the time these photos were taken, I was healing from the fall I had on my parents’ driveway at the end of December. It was (still is) an uphill battle because I had little energy to do any work other than the editing of ‘To be Maria’.

I admit, I’m a worry wart. I worry about my future and I worry about the negative thoughts people might have about the career path I have chosen. I find it just too easy to let fear dictate the choices I make. But when I study these photos, I think about the sacrifice Jesus has made for me, for us. He doesn’t care that I’m a poor writer, struggling to make it in writerdom because He has a plan for me. I’m still trying to figure out what that plan is, but I do know that He is telling me, through those images that He is with me no matter what. I’m not alone, I never will be alone. And neither are you. God will make things beautiful in His time.

Patience has never been my forte, it’s something I’m learning to work on. In the meantime, I’m working hard to meet God halfway.

I could have just taken these photos at the right time when the sun was setting; the sun reflected off the camera lens in such a way where it created a ray of light in the form of a crucifix. I could easily go outside on another cloudless evening and capture the sunset on camera in the same way as I had before. But, would the light appear in the exact same form? Was this simply art or coincidence? I’d like to think that this was a coincidence, that Christ revealed Himself to me in a way that I’m still trying to comprehend.

Leave a Reply

