Story Theatre: The 5th Season


Since the end of ‘A Christmas Carol’, I’ve been waiting three long months for a new season of story theatre to begin. Well, it’s now t-minus 2 days until we kick off our 5th season with two free workshops. Even though this will be my third season with the Driftwood Players Story Theatre, I’m excited.

This summer, though, is going to be different from the past two summers: I wrote two short plays that will be performed on our various imaginary stages. The first one, ‘The Ant and the Grasshopper’ is an adaptation from Aesop, only with my own creative twist; the second play, ‘The Laborer’s Plea’, is my very own creation: It’s a tale set in medieval Europe and it follows the story of a landless laborer who, in his quest for work, shelter and food gets turned down by three different people. Until he meets the Monk.

Part–or I should say–most of this story is inspired by Ken Follet’s epic novel, ‘The Pillars of the Earth’. I didn’t copy-cat his ideas, of course. I just happen to be incredibly interested in the Middle Ages, so I wanted to write something that captivated the attitudes and the culture of that time. That’s where ‘The Laborer’s Plea came from.

If you live on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, I encourage you to come out and watch a story theatre performance. We’ll be touring the coast as always, and we will be performing a number of other stories as well.

Leave a Reply

