Challenges!


I have to say, the year 2012 is smooth sailing, so far. I pray that it stays this way all the way through. But, like any year, there are a few challenges that I’m faced with. However, they’re not your typical, ‘why is this happening and how can I overcome this’ type of challenges; they’re challenges that I have sought out to expand my skills, and to nurture my emotional, intellectual and physical growth.

Challenge #1: I have recently joined the SCA. Well, sort of. I have attended only two meet-ups, but I do plan on joining this group. Here on the Sunshine Coast, the focus is on sword fighting (with wooden swords of course). I’m probably the last person anyone would imagine putting on heavy armour and waving a sword around: I’m not very tall and I’m slightly on the petite side.

But I’ve challenged myself to learn this new skill because I want to learn the art of sword fighting. I want to feel what it’s like to fight an opponent, wearing heavy armour, just like they did back in the Middle Ages. I also want to meet new people and expand my mind to accommodate knowledge of the medieval era.

Challenge #2: I’ve joined the story theatre troupe once more. As excited as I am to perform up and down the coast for the third summer in a row, I’m having a hard time getting into the groove of it because I just can’t keep my mind off of other things that I hope to accomplish this year. Because of this, I’m having a slightly hard time getting into my characters’ heads.

I wish it could be just like when I performed all three spirits in ‘A Christmas Carol’ last year: I felt that instant connection with the characters. It had been like magic. But this season, I haven’t felt that instant connection with any of my characters. It’s a complete work-in-progress, but I realize that things don’t happen the same way twice. If you really want to do something amazingly well, you have to work at it. You have to put a lot of energy and time into it. I consider myself a good actress, but I’m not perfect by any means. There is still a lot of room for growth, but I’m up for the challenge.

Leave a Reply

