Writing From Intuition by Dr. Lesley Phillips


This is a guest article by Dr. Lesley Phillips. Phillips is a speaker, author, workshop leader, spiritual and meditation teacher based in Vancouver BC, Canada; her book, The Midas Tree will be available on 11 November 2012.

There are as many ways to write a book as there are authors. Depending on the writer, and the book, it might be important to do extensive research on the subject matter, location, historical context, even the area of professional expertise of the hero. Some writers take classes from experts and join writers groups to learn the “correct” way to structure and write a novel.

This is great and clearly works for many successful novelists. Coming from a scientific and intellectual background, I certainly can see how this approach makes sense. Although, I also believe that it could be very limiting, as it sets boundaries. If you never cross these boundaries, how can you ever break new ground?

My way was to write from my intuition.

When I wrote my book, I was a workshop virgin. What I mean by this is that I had never attended a class on how to write fiction and so I knew nothing of the prescribed ingredients for a successful novel.

I did after I had written my book and was glad not to have done so before, as it would have made me too critical of my own work to succeed.

I wanted to by-pass my intellect and tap into my creative flow!

So, I meditated on becoming a writer. I connected with my higher consciousness and I released limits to my creativity. After several hours of meditation the floodgates opened. That night I didn’t get any sleep, as the contents of my book were pouring into me in a great surge of creativity.

By morning I had met all the characters of the book and had a complete outline, including the chapter headings and a title The Midas Tree.

Writing was like watching a movie.

When I wrote, I did not concern myself with speller or grammar or composition. After all, that could be taken care of later by a copy-editor. Instead I entered a meditative state where I was able to see the book like it was a film. I could stop and restart at any point, and so could write at my own convenience. There was no writers block; the only limiting factor was my time and availability.

As I did not plan the book, I did not know who the target audience would be until I had a finished draft in my hands. Then I had to take a step back and see what I had created.

I created a Spiritual Adventure Story.

It turns out that The Midas Tree is a spiritual adventure novel that teaches truths about the nature of reality through an allegorical fairy tale. The hero battles with his ego on the journey through the tree, which represents the journey of enlightenment.

The book also includes the meditation techniques that I teach in my classes. It is written a way that makes the information available to children and adults alike.

It is my deepest wish that this book will help children to validate their intuition, as I did, and use it in the most creative and rewarding way for them.

You can learn more about Dr. Lesley Phillips at:

http://www.facebook.com/themidastree 

www.drlesleyphillips.com

You can also find her on Twitter @DrLesleyP, and you can contact her at
4 thoughts on “Writing From Intuition by Dr. Lesley Phillips

  1. Pingback: URL

  2. Pingback: Neon Open Sign 97N

  3. Pingback: gks bełchatów sklep

  4. Pingback: useful source

Leave a Reply

